BCWI Structure

A board of directors made up of nine voting members governs the BCWI. There are three seats on the board for directors from each of the three winery size categories, though each director acts on behalf of the entire BCWI membership. Board members are elected at annual general meetings for three-year terms and each year they elect from among themselves the board chair. An independent grapegrower appointed by the BC Grapegrowers' Association, a non-industry representative, and the BCWI President are ex-officio non-voting members of the board.

As a result of the BCWI's corporate and governance review in 2014, the BCWI Board of Directors undertook considerable review and work regarding best governance practices and BCWI structure. One of the outcomes was the restructuring of BCWI committees. Committee and task group mandates were re-confirmed and terms of reference were updated by the Board, resulting in a streamlining to ensure relevant, expert and efficient input on current key BCWI and BC wine industry issues. These changes will work hand-in-hand with the Board structure changes (ie. increase to 3/3/3 winery representation) and the Board’s chair and director succession planning.

Active committees comprised of expert volunteer members assist the organization. Committees of the Board of Directors currently include Finance and Risk Management, and Board Governance. Management committees to assist the President include Government Relations and Marketing. Ad hoc task groups may be convened from time to time.

To peruse recent Board, Committee and task group activity, click here.

Board of Directors

BCWI Board of Directors

BCWI Board of Directors (July 2017; L to R): Back: David Kozuki, BC Grapegrowers’ Association; Leo Gebert (St. Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery); Ezra Cipes (Summerhill Pyramid Winery); Douglas Friend, Independent; David Wilson (Mark Anthony Group); Miles Prodan (BCWI President/CEO); Ian MacDonald (Liquidity Wines).
Front: Robert Heiss (Gray Monk Estate Winery); Christa-Lee McWatters Bond (Evolve Cellars), Chair; Josie Tyabji (Arterra Wines);  Tony Holler (Poplar Grove Winery); Greg Berti (Andrew Peller).

Christa-Lee McWatters Bond, Chair, Evolve Cellars
Ezra Cipes, Vice Chair, Summerhill Pyramid Winery
David Wilson, Mark Anthony Group
Greg Berti, Andrew Peller
Erik Fisher, Monte Creek Ranch Winery (from November 2017)
Leo Gebert, St. Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery
Bob Heiss, Gray Monk Estate Winery (to October 2017)
Tony Holler, Poplar Grove Winery
Ian MacDonald, Liquidity Wines
Josie Tyabji, Arterra Wines
David Kozuki, Golden Retreat Vineyard, BC Grapegrowers' Association (non-voting ex officio)
Douglas Friend, Independent (non-voting ex officio)
Miles Prodan, President & CEO, BC Wine Institute (non-voting ex officio)


Committees of The Board of Directors

Finance & Risk Management Committee
Per the BC Wine Institute Bylaws, the Finance & Risk Management Committee is a standing committee of the Board of Directors and the mandate is:

  • to facilitate the timely and accurate reporting of financial information to the BCWI Society Board of Directors and to its members
  • to review financial statements and the Society’s budget
  • to ensure that proper accounting procedures are being followed within the Society
  • to monitor the key risks that may arise from or impact the Society’s strategy.

Geri Davis, Chair, Gray Monk Estate Winery
Leo Gebert, St. Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery
Josie Tyabji, Arterra Wines
David Wilson, Mark Anthony Group

Terms of Reference

Board Governance Committee
Per the BC Wine Institute Bylaws, the Governance Committee is a standing committee of the Board of Directors and the mandate is:

  • to nominate a slate of proposed Directors to be considered for election at each annual general meeting
  • to attend to succession planning and conduct Board evaluation
  • to ensure that the Society maintains appropriate governance standards.

Greg Berti, Chair, Andrew Peller
Christa-Lee McWatters Bond, Evolve Cellars
Ezra Cipes, Summerhill Pyramid Winery

Terms of Reference


Management Committees

Government Relations Committee
Per the BC Wine Institute Bylaws, the Government Relations Committee is a standing management committee and the mandate is:

  • to identify policy priorities, develop strategies for advocating policy changes that benefit the British Columbia grape and wine industry and BCWI Society members
  • to position the BCWI Society as the industry leader in advocacy to all levels of government.

Christa-Lee McWatters Bond, Chair, Evolve Cellars
George Hanson, Seven Stones Winery
Tony Holler, Poplar Grove Winery
Trish Morelli, Kamloops Winery Association
Luke Smith, Howling Bluff Estate Winery
Josie Tyabji, Arterra Wines

Terms of Reference

Marketing Committee
Per the BC Wine Institute Bylaws, the Marketing Committee is a standing management committee and the mandate is:

  • to provide direction to British Columbia Wine Institute (BCWI) staff on marketing strategies
  • to facilitate the development of the annual marketing and communications plan
  • to develop and recommend a budget that will allow the Society to meet objectives contained in the annual plan.

Erik Fisher, Chair, Monte Creek Ranch Winery
Christine Coletta, Okanagan Crush Pad
Bob Heiss, Gray Monk Estate Winery
Lindsay Kelm, Quails’ Gate Winery
Scott Locke, CedarCreek Estate Winery
Paul Sawler, Dirty Laundry Vineyard
Sara Triggs, Culmina Family Estate Winery

Terms of Reference


Task Groups

Ad hoc task groups are created from time to time to help accomplish the work that would normally be done by staff, and include invited member wineries to assist and provide input. Differing from committees, task groups are created to address short-term issues. They are given specific tasks to accomplish and usually a short time frame within which their work is to be completed. When the task is complete, the group is disbanded.

  • BC Wine Appellation Task Group: mandate to bring forward industry recommendations to propose amendment(s) to the Wines of Marked Quality Regulation that represent the interests of all 100% BC Wine Producers – COMPLETE

  • BC Liquor Stores Task Group: mandate to increase opportunities for BC VQA Wines in the BC Liquor Stores channel – COMPLETE

  • Export Task Group: mandate to develop a 3 to 5 year export (outside Canada) strategy for BC VQA Wines – ONGOING

  • BC VQA Wine Store (Non-Grocery) Task Group: mandate to recommend the role, long-term strategy and vision for the non-grocery BC VQA Wine Stores, including input from the membership-at-large – ONGOING

  • BC VQA Wine-in-Grocery Annual Marketing & Merchandizing Task Group: as required by the BCWI grocery operating agreement, mandate to develop an annual plan specific to the BC VQA Wine-in-Grocery channel – ONGOING
Website Design by Kelowna Web Design Agency Csek Creative